15th August, 2024 - Moving 3190 Miles!

We recently learned that we will be moving across the world at the end of October! (The spookiest time to move to another country)

Back in 2018 I moved from Wales to the US to be with my now-wife. It was a great time, and we have had many cool experiences together here! Though last year we had the biggest experience yet in the form of a lovely and demanding baby named Elwyn. Since then we have been trying for some time to find a way to move us over to the UK where we can be closer to family (and castles, and sausage rolls).

We tried multiple avenues without success, and overall the process took so long that I kind of thought it wasn't going to happen. And now that it IS happening, I am slowly allowing myself to be excited for all the reasons we wanted to move back to Wales in the first place.

One of the things I missed most while living in the US is the sense of history. Yes, the landscape and vast nature has plenty of history, but I miss the man-made history of castles, stone walls, and winding streets. It's something I wasn't even all that conscious of while living at home, but now I miss it tremendously! I can't wait to explore it all with new eyes, and I'll definitely write about some cool places here and share photos.

We are also excited to live much closer to the seaside. Pretty much wherever we live in the UK, we'll be closer to the sea than we are now. With that said, we would love to live right by the sea. Let's make this dream come true!

One of the silliest things I am excited for back home is all the cases for my video games! When I moved over here, I took all the cartridges and discs out of there cases and brought them with me, leaving the cases at my parent's house. I always intended to bring them over with me on a future trip, but thanks to COVID I've only been home once in the past 6 years, so that never happened.

I have a pretty good collection of DS, 3DS and Wii games, and I'll have so much fun reuniting them with their cases and manuals! A lot of them even have my original receipts tucked away behind the manual, and it's always a fun bit of history to remember buying something for a great price (especially since DS and 3DS games have gotten so much harder to buy these days).

Anyway, this is all just a bunch of words to say we'll be moving in a few months, and life is about to get crazy. It felt overwhelming a couple of weeks ago, as we struggled to come up with a plan while also entertaining Elwyn. But since then we have started forming a plan, and bit by bit things are clicking into place.

I'm sure there are things I will miss about living here. Like vultures, apple-cider doughnuts, my job at the library, and my favourite pond full with frogs. But I will hold these memories dear as I make new ones.

I'm nervous and excited and all sorts of other emotions, but I will look forward to the adventures that await us as a family and continue onward!

Return to blog archive